All-American Berryman Is Bound for Youngstown State


Bre Berryman, a senior and basketball standout at Indian Creek High School signed her National Letter of Intent to play basketball for Youngstown State University. Standing at 6’5″, she has dominated the floor over the past three years and is currently doing so this season. Bre has been one of the best basketball players to ever play for the Redskins. The Penguins have a treat coming there way. Here are her accomplishments through three seasons at ICHS:

Freshman – Junior Year:

1st Team All-Ohio
1st Team OVAC
1st Team District V
1st Team Buckeye 8
1st Team All-Valley
1st Team Eastern District

Bre was awarded Eastern District Player of the Year her Freshman and Junior season. She has accumulated over 1000 points and 1000 rebounds in her career. Recently, she was nominated as a McDonald’s All-American. Bre is one of eleven girls that were nominated in the United States. She joins Paige Geanangel, who committed to YSU to play softball, and is anxious to continue her athletic and academic career at Youngstown State University.


Indian Creek’s Zach Connor Makes His Decision


Zach Connor recently signed with West Liberty University to continue his football career as a linebacker. West Liberty is a Division II school in college football, and they participate in the Mountain East Conference. Connor was offered a scholarship from West Liberty and coaches say he has a good chance of starting freshman year. Connor says he cannot wait to participate at the next level. West Liberty last season went 6-5 and did not make the playoffs, but Connor says that won’t be the case next year. Below are the awards he won over his high school career.

Sophomore year: Honorable Mention Eastern District, Honorable Mention Quad County, Honorable Mention Buckeye 8.

Junior year: First Team Eastern District, First Team Quad County, First Team OVAC, First Team Buckeye 8, WTOV9 Defensive Player of the Year finalist.

Senior year: 3rd Team All State, First Team Ohio Valley Athletic Conference, First Team Quad County, Art Teynor Region 12 Ohio Player of the Year, First Team Eastern District Ohio, WTOV9 Big 22 Player of the Year Finalist and WTOV9 Defensive Player of the Year Finalist, Wheeling Intelligencer Newspaper Captain and First Team All Valley.

“West Liberty is the perfect place for me to continue my football career.” says Connor.

Creek’s Paige Geanangel is Division-I Bound


Paige Geanangel, a senior at Indian Creek High School signed her National Letter of Intent last week to play softball for the Penguins of Youngstown State. Paige has started on the mound for three years. She is a three year letter winner on the softball team at ICHS. Her high school honors include:

3x First Team Eastern District
3x First Team OVAC
3x First Team Buckeye 8
Honorable Mention All-State
First Team All-State
OVAC Player of the Year

National Honor Society Induction Ceremony


The National Honor Society, Chapter 2330 of Indian Creek High School, held its yearly Induction Ceremony on Jan. 14, 2015, in the school gymnasium. Sixteen new members were inducted during the ceremony. Many parents and faculty attended the evening’s festivities. These students were chosen on : character, leadership, service, and scholarship. The National Honor Society at Indian Creek High School strives to uphold these four pillars of excellence and choose only those students who exemplify these qualities. The new inductees are: Maddie Billick, Cheyenne Bodnar,James Bolyog, Samantha Byrd, James Cable, Bethany Davis, Allyssa DiPietro, Morgan Evans, Tyler Gaydosh, Jordan Herald, Lauren Marracino, Briana Piergallini, Harrison Trikones, Gage Turner, Kyle Weaver, and Zachary Williams. They join the current membership which includes: Marissa DeFallo (Treasurer), Shelby Dye, Skyler Dye, Aaron Eckley, Abby Greco, Kaleb Knowlton (President), Max Lewis,Rachel McCloskey, Amber Meszaros (Vice-President), Mitch Porter, Eric Renzelli, Brooke Spence, Steven Westlake (Secretary), and Cole Yeater. These outstanding students represent Indian Creek High School’s National Honor Society for the 2014-15 school year. Congratulations!